Trump Signs New Travel Ban Targeting 8 Countries

President Donald Trump signed a proclamation Sunday imposing new restrictions on travelers from eight countries. The restrictions, which take effect Oct. 18, apply to travelers from Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, North Korea and Venezuela, according to t he proclamation.

The restrictions target countries the Department of Homeland Security says fail to share sufficient information with the U.S. or haven’t taken necessary security precautions, the Associated Press reported.

The president tweeted after the new ban was announced: “Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet.”

In a statement from the White House, the president also said, “We cannot afford to continue the failed policies of the past, which present an unacceptable danger to our country. My highest obligation is to ensure the safety and security of the American people, and in issuing this new travel order, I am fulfilling that sacred obligation.”

This proclamation replaces the president’s first, temporary travel ban, which expired Sunday, and included travelers from six predominantly-Muslim countries — Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. Under the new ban, only Sudan will no longer be subject to restrictions.

Restrictions on travelers vary by country. Travelers from some countries are banned with no exceptions, while the ban only applies to a certain group of travelers from other countries. Additionally, valid visas will not be revoked.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top