Cristiano Ronaldo

Ronaldo beats Messi and Neymar to be voted best player

Cristiano Ronaldo was named FIFA’s player of the year ahead of Lionel Messi in the second edition of ‘The Best’ Awards, held in London.

His achievements at the end of last season, where he hit ten goals in the final five games of the Champions League and helped Real Madrid to win the tournament, have been recognized.

In his personal battle with Messi, he now has two of the new FIFA awards to Messi’s zero, while the Argentine has five Ballon d’Ors compared to Ronaldo’s four ahead of the naming of this year’s winner in December.

The pair has dominated the awards in recent years with Ronaldo coming out on top in the past two years as Real have won back-to-back Champions League trophies and three from the past four editions.

He was presented with the award by Diego Maradona and he paid tribute to his teammates.

“It is great to be here, surrounded by these great players,”

he said.”It is an award for consistency, work and the effort of the team.

“It is a dream to be in the best team for 11 consecutive occasions, and these types of trophies.”

Ronaldo beats Messi and Neymar to be voted best player
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top